Join now - be part of our community!

Just did a pc software update please help

Not applicable

Just did a pc software update please help

Im very angry right now so perhaps im not thinking straight. I have just performed an update via the PC software 'Support Zone'

i did it. turned the phone on off as the screen said to do.

now ive booted up the phone and ALL MY PAID APPS, SHORTCUTS  EVERYTHING HAS BEEN ERASED!!!!!!!

what is going on. have i gone mad?!

4 REPLIES 4
Dr_Chris
Champion

Yes, unfortunately when you update via PC you lose everything that you have added to the phone, but it shouldn't affect any data on the memory and SIM cards.

suze
Leader

When I updated my phone there were two options, the first left all your settings in place and the second performs a factory reset and installs the update as well.

Your paid for apps are attached to the Google account you bought them on so should be available to redownload.  Any free apps just reinstall.

As your phone has factory reset you will have to 'build' your phone again unless maybe you used the backup and restore function before hand, altho I'm not sure how much this actually restores.

Your contacts you hopefully synced or saved to your SD card before you ran the update.

I understand your frustration and hope you get sorted out.

Not applicable

ok did a backup from memory CARD. NOTHING ON IT

put in my google details on the sync. area of settings menu. nothing happening on Apps FRONT

I THINK EVERYTHING IS GONE.

suze
Leader

Have a look at this page from Android Market help, it may be of assistance.

http://market.android.com/support/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=113410

Had you used the Backup and Restore function before carrying out your update?  Mine says it backs up Bookmarks, call logs, contacts (that arent synced) messages and system settings.  To be fair I haven't had to do a restore so not sure quite how much info it saves but if it hadn't been run before hand then there would be nothing to restore.  The same with sync, if your contacts were synced with either Sony Ericsson or Google beforehand they should now be available to sync back to the phone now.

Looks like you are going to have to build your phone back up to the settings you like.